Elphaba Beanie

OK – So I love the beanie that Elphaba wears in Wicked.

So I looked at a bunch of pictures, and I found that there are about a million different versions depending upon the production.  They are all pretty close, but the one I was looking for was the version that Idina Menzel wears in the original Broadway production.  After checking Rav, I found that I wasn’t happy with the patterns on there.  The hat is crocheted with small spaces showing between each stitch, but the patterns I found seemed to be more of a mesh (like filet crochet). The spaces in the show pictures I found didn’t seem that big. The only thing left to do was to make my own. Not too difficult – I’m pleased with the results:

Not only that, I wrote up the pattern!  Here’s what you need to know.  I used and H hook and some leftover worsted weight.  I’m not sure how much it took, but definitely not much.  The other important thing is that this is going to look a little small/tight when you first make it.  It should stretch a bit upon the first wearing.  If you crochet it to fit perfectly from the start, it will stretch out and be too loose after you wear it once.

This has NOT been test crocheted, so if you have any questions, feedback, I’d love to hear from you.  (Please be nice – remember it’s a freebie!)

And, I have no connection with Wicked the Musical, and any trademarks, etc. are the properties of their respective owners.

OK – Here’s my pattern:

Elphaba Beanie Hat

BUT WAIT – THERE’S MORE!!!!

After looking at this for a day, I decided to try it again a bit differently.  I’ve adjusted the shaping a bit to make it a bit more flat at the top, since I think that matches the original a bit better.  Honestly, no one other than me would every notice any difference, but it was bugging me.  So, here for your further crocheting pleasure, I give you Elphie’s Hat Version 2!

Can’t really tell the difference, can you?  Even so – for anyone who prefers this version, here’s a new PDF:

Elphaba Beanie Hat Version 2

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patricia Broughton
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 00:51:20

    Your crochet instructions for Elphaba Beanie, are they Aus, UK or US

    Reply

Leave a Reply

