Wicked Stepmother (not) socks

Are you proud of me?  I started swatching with the wicked stepmother.  And then decided that, while I was getting gauge, my knitting looked too loose for making a sock (at least in my opinion).  And since the pattern I wanted was not easily adjustable for gauge, I decided I’d better look for a different pattern.  Then I noticed that the yarn band says “hand wash”.  So, my question is, do I go forward with socks and hope that if I toss them in the wash they will survive or do I go with something else? Spent last evening looking through sock patterns and getting nervous about the whole washing thing. And then decided that Wicked Stepmother wants to be something else.  I think it’s finally time for Ishbel . . .

The only question is. Do I want to buy the pattern or the whole collection.  Hmmmmmmm.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kitten
    Oct 04, 2009 @ 01:11:12

    I hate to say this, but I’ve had hideous luck with machine washing Knit Picks’ sock yarn, but I was trying with their earlier versions of it. Have you tried knitting a swatch and throwing it in with your clothes?

    I hate sock yarns I can’t machine wash.

    Reply

    • silvercharmster
      Oct 04, 2009 @ 12:27:15

      I’ve washed the Essential (now Stroll) with no problems. This one is Imagination, though. It’s already slightly fuzzy from the Alpaca, so you’re probably right – it would probably pill (or worse). It’s definitely not going to be socks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

