Updates

So, I know I’ve been a bit behind on updates, so here are the recent highlights.

My new little niece, Baby Juju, arrived on the 13th, and she is the most gorgeous child – aside from my own two babies of course 🙂  She’s so tiny – it’s always difficult for me to hold a newborn and remember that my little ones were ever that tiny. They grow so fast! When they’re that young they remind me of a little loaf of bread.

Here’s Jazz with her new little cousin:

jazzyw

Seeing as my brother and sister-in-law live a good hour’s drive away, I’ve only gotten to see her twice, but did manage to sneak a few minutes this week.  Before I met my brother to head out to see Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince!!!  WOO HOO!

Speaking of which, I loved it, loved it, loved it!!! I think this is my favorite HP movie since the first. (Or maybe I was just so excited to be out of the house with grownups and munchkin-free). We went to an afternoon matinee and were the only two people in the theatre – which was majorly cool. Kind of felt like a movie star myself – getting a private screening and all 🙂

Other than that, our big highlight was our very quick family vacation to Disney. Due to constraints beyond our control, it was just a short trip hitting only the highlights, but still very fun. Both kids loved Pirates of the Caribbean, and hated the Haunted Mansion (my fav – boo hoo!). Traveling boy really loved the water play areas:

rwaterw

And Jazz loved all the countries in EPCOT. They were all great, but I think the people were friendliest in the Morocco pavilion (and that’s saying something, because everyone is friendly in Disney). They taught Jazz to bellydance:

jbellyw

EPCOT offers what they call KIDCOT, where the kids get a mask and stop in each country for a stamp and a decoration to add on. We also bought each of them the EPCOT passport, so they got that stamped in each country plus, a note written in the language of that country. That included translating their names into the various writing (Arabic, Chinese, Japanese). We had a great time looking for the stop in each country.

I think EPCOT was my favorite too. I love visiting all the countries – I could go crazy in the shops (but, thankfully, held myself in check).

Especially loved Norway though:

menorwayw

That’s me with my new best friend.

It was probably a good thing that we only had time to hit the highlights.  I would have come home broke 🙂

Knitting, you ask????  Oh, that . . .   Well . . .   You see . . .  I’m still having a bit of trouble getting that knitting mojo back. Did manage to work a bit on the Can Cans. And I love Hermione’s gray hat from HBP, so maybe . . .  Really, it’s starting to come back.  The CanCans won’t take long at all once I dive in.  And of course, the purple malabrigo scarf still stares at me longingly.  Hmmmmm.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. MariaVerde
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 15:08:49

    I thought the same thing about Hermione’s hat, actually. Then I thought I’d look kind of silly in it…

    I saw “The Curse of the Were-Rabbit” in a theater where I was the only viewer – I think it was a 5:30 showing on a weekday when it had been out for about it month. It is sort of cool to feel like you’re getting a private screening.

    mrc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

