It’s a Good Day to Dye . . .

So I’ve been promising Jasmine for the past few months that once summer hit, we would dye our own yarn. Unfortunately, the entire month of June continued our “rainy season” that started in April.

Thankfully, the weather finally started to break, which meant, it was time.

kayarn

TA-DAAAAAAA . . .

OK – so I know it looks kind of like the crayon box threw up, but I’m still very pleased with myself.

I decided that we would go with Kool-Aid dying since it’s relatively non-toxic (better for children). And, armed with a print-out from Knitty, off we went.  We decided to do hand painting (just to make things more fun), and collected cherry, grape, blue raspberry, orange and lemon Kool-Aid packets, as well as some empty ketchup and mustard containers from the dollar store.

The whole thing did end up getting a bit messy (our fingers were pretty stained by the time we finished), but still really fun.  And, I was amazed at how the wool took the dye.  It seemed to absorb all the color, and the mix water running through would come out clear (way cool!).  We ended up using twice the amount of Kool-Aid than Knitty suggested – I think that’s because we were hand-painting as opposed to just putting the wool in a jar. Since we don’t have  a microwave (I know – we’re strange), I steamed the finished product in the rice cooker.  (Again, a good reason for my non-toxic Kool-aid choice). Then a quick wash, and lay out to dry, and voila!  Varigated yarn!

For a first try, I think we did pretty well. The left skein is mine and the right is Jasmine’s. Now I have to figure out what I’ll make with mine.  Jasmine has already decided that hers will be a purse.  But, she’s not a very monogomous knitter, and with three projects already on her needles, I’m thinking I might suggest she hold off for a while until she actually finishes something she’s started.

We still have two skeins of bare left – one DK (for Jazz) and one sock (for me). So my plan is to do a cherry/orange combo for the sock yarn. (Like I really need more sock yarn . . . )

On the knitting project side.  I used the extra purple cotton left over from my DROPS shrug to try another DROPS pattern – a crocheted tote.  It’s double stranded and larger than I expected (although I am right on gauge, so I think it’s just the way they took the photo). It’s already one of my favorites. And, yes, I know – purple again . . . (No, Mimi, the purple phase doesn’t really end, does it?)

dropstote

It’s very strong – there are about 3 large hard back books in there.  The photo doesn’t do it justice. LOVE IT!!!

So, now I’m trying to find some new knitting mojo.  I’ve just started test-knitting a Carlisle Cullen scarf for a designer on one of the Ravelry Twilight Groups. So far it’s coming up nice – very easy – another one of those medatative knitting projects (ie – no thinking required). And, of course, there is always my Purple Malabrigo scarf (Mmmmm – Malabrigo) – which hasn’t gotten too much longer, although I am over half way done.

But, seeing as my new little niece should arrive ANY DAY (!!!) I’m sure I’ll have lots of  ideas very, very soon.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kitten
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 16:15:44

    You know that is some gorgeous yarn! I’ve been dying (um, haha?) to try some Kool-Aid dying myself. What does the Cullen scarf look like?

    Reply

    • silvercharmster
      Jul 07, 2009 @ 15:05:29

      It was really fun – and I was surprised how well it turned out. The Cullen scarf is coming along – I’ll post a photo soon. I’ve been reviewing the movie, and I don’t think the original scarf was knit, but this will be close. I’m really pleased with how it’s turning out!

      Reply

  2. Evelyn
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 18:29:06

    Help! I’m trying to find a little guide book to Bella’s home town of Forks, Washington. I heard it just came out, but I can’t find it because I don’t know the title. Do you know the title, and where I can get it? Bookstores don’t seem to have it. We’re going to Forks soon. Thanks a zillion!!!

    Reply

  3. MariaVerde
    Jul 11, 2009 @ 02:37:59

    Since this week I’m sleeping under a purple/lavender/periwinkle afghan, I can’t say much about the purple phase, can I? I’d do more purple myself except I look better in green. 🙂

    You should make sure Megan sees that bag – the two of you can try to out-purple each other. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

