Here Comes the Bride

Have you ever seen the movie Romy & Michele’s High School Reunion? It’s about girlfriends who graduated from high school in the 80’s.  Romy & Michele are the are such close friends that they are the only ones to ever appear together in their school yearbook photo.  I think there are an awful lot of Romy & Michele’s out there.

Case in point:

Vicki & Michelle circa 1986

Vicki & Michelle circa 1986

No, we didn’t take the actual  yearbook picture together, but we did get our senior yearbook photos taken during the same session.  Close enough.

So, I was very, very honored to stand for my longtime friend when she got married last weekend. It was a beautiful day and I was grateful to be a part of it.

Take a look:

vick2

The wedding took place at her father’s house, nestled in the woods.  I feel like I grew up at this house.  It was strange but good to be back there.  As I drove down the road toward their home, I almost felt like I was driving back in time 20-some years.

Have we changed much? I’ll let you be the judge of that.  But one thing is for sure.  Our hair is a lot better now!

vickmichelle2w

In any event, I was so glad to see my friend so happy. I wish both the bride and her groom all the happiness in the world!

vick4

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mairin
    May 26, 2009 @ 20:54:15

    Love the high school photo!!!

    Reply

  2. MariaVerde
    May 31, 2009 @ 03:13:25

    I’ll second the better hair part. That’s why I’m glad I was usually holding the camera back then instead of in front of it. 🙂

    mrc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

