Goodbye to March!

So yes, it’s been a while since I posted, but it’s also been March, which in our family seems to be the most difficult month of the year.  Why, you ask?  Simple answer – Birthdays!  Now, I’m not a scrooge, and I’m very happy to celebrate birthdays, but we have eight this month.  That’s right, EIGHT!  And, I’m not talking about distant relatives or friends we rarely see.  I’m talking close family.  Thankfully, this year some of these birthdays have been combined, so there were fewer than eight separate celebrations (we actually got it down to three this year – a new record).  So it really wasn’t quite as bad as previous years – other than pocketbook strain. Eight presents at once take their toll on the family budget!

But WOO HOO!!  Tomorrow starts April, which means that we’ve gotten past “Birthday Month!”

So, what did I accomplish last month? Well, the website for The Bright Side of Life is all but completed!  This is the Life is good Local Neighborhood Shops in Haddonfield and Medford, New Jersey. They are awesome stores run by wonderful people!  Check out the site! And, if you are in S. Jersey, stop on over and say Hi! If not, you can still purchase Life is good products from them –  and they offer free shipping for orders over $60. Just give a call and Besty, Alli or any of the crew will be happy to help you find the perfect way to tell the world that you think Life is Good.  (Am I sounding advertisey? Sorry – it really is an awesome shop – and maybe if lots of people visit the web and the shop, they’ll send more work my way!)

Knitting???? Have I done any?  Of course.  I actually started my red baby blanket for my Sister-in-law. I found a wonderful pattern called Serenity – all lacy/leafy. But, I think I chose the wrong yarn.  It was working, but it just wasn’t looking the way I envisioned. Plus, I kept losing my place and having to tink. AND, since it works from the center out, each row was longer and required more concentration than the one before. It was getting to be very annoying and I was afraid all my bad vibes as I knit would translate to the baby. So I frogged it – a week’s worth of work.  (Although it was a March week’s worth of work, which isn’t quite as much). And started again with a different pattern. This was a free one from Lion Brand that I’ve made before. Still lacy but requiring a lot less thought. Also very, VERY boring. I got about a third of the way through and thought it would never end.  Thankfully, it did, and I’m very pleased with the result:

Red Baby Blanket

Red Baby Blanket

Also managed to whip up a bookmark for my sister-in-law for her birthday (one of the March Eight):

Fan Bookmark

Fan Bookmark

Her birthday present was a gift card, and they never look like much, so I wanted to add a little something to bulk it up. This pattern worked up quick and it’s so pretty. I used DMC Perle size 8 – so it’s nice and shiny too.

So now I’ve started baby blanket #2 for my new niece, although the plan for this one is to present it after the baby is born – which means I have a few more months yet. The newest one is pink, and is a pattern I’ve made many times before, so it’s going quickly – I’m past the half-way mark and should finish it before the end of the week.

Oh – I never posted my Monkey socks either, so here they are as well:

Monkey Socks

Monkey Socks

I’m wearing them as I type and they’re so nice & snuggly. I went up slightly from gauge, which means they’re just a tad bit big (but not too big) and I went slightly too long in the foot, which gives my toes plenty of wiggle room – soooo comfy! Yes, they are fraternal twins, but who’s going to be checking anyway, right?

So that’s my March report.  I leave you with one other design project. An ad that I’m pleased with …

Maui Wowi Ad

Best smoothies EVER!!!!  And they offer catering too!

Leave a Reply

