Va Bene!

So it all started when my little guy is ALREADY growing out of the little froggie hat I made him.

frog11

So, what’s a knitter to do?  Knit a new hat, of course.  I already had one skein of the softest, cushiest, gray washable wool waiting in my stash.  I had actually purchased it for something else, and majorly misjudged my yardage requirements for that project.  So, said project was re-knit in a different wool, and this was left over.  What is this wonderful fiber, you ask?  It’s Mondial, Merino Plus – 52% new wool and 48% acrylic. – From Italian sheep.  (OK, so it’s made in Italy – I’m just guessing that the sheep are actually Italian).

Back to my story.  I love the Margart Bauer’s “Jack’s Hat” from the 2008 Knitting Patterns a Day calendar.  Problem?  That pattern is written 1. for an adult and 2. for a much lighter yarn with lots more stitches/repeats.  Even if I cut the pattern down, I would still run out of my lovely Italian sheep wool before I even got half-way through the hat.  So – never one to be stopped that easily.  I used Jack’s Hat as inspiration, and created my own pattern.  It still keeps the same cabled feel of the pattern I like so much, but I’ve changed the stitch pattern, and, of course, the gauge and construction, so that it would work as a baby hat, and only take the one 100gr skein in my stash.

So, without further delay, here is my “Va Bene” Hat.  (“Va Bene” is one of the few Italian phrases I know, and I wanted an Italian name to go with my Italian sheep.  Can you tell I have a thing for Italian sheep???)

vabene2w

vabenehatw

Yes, it is a little big, but after the froggie hat only lasting a couple of months, I decided to give him a little wiggle room, so he has some room to grow.  Plus, I love that my soft, cushy knitting covers his little ears.

In fact, I’m so pleased with this hat, that I decided to write up the pattern.  For anyone that’s interested, here it is:

Va Bene Baby Hat Pattern

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kitten
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 05:49:55

    Oh my! Look at his tiny little face in the first froggie picture. He’s got such cute cheeks and such a happy smile. (How is it that I went the whole first 30 or so years of my life not noticing that babies have the best little cheeks in the world? I always want to kiss all over my own son’s.)

    Reply

  2. smittenknitten
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 04:37:06

    Bellisimo! So cute!

    Reply

  3. Amanda
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 21:54:56

    These hats are so cute. I am new to knitting and am trying to make the Va Bene hat, but have a quick question. round one says *K6,P1,[K1, P1] 4 times. Repeat from *5 more times. Do I do K6,P1,[K1, P1] 4 times, then all of it again 5 more times? I am not sure what the [] are for. Would love some help. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

