More Stuff!

So here are my latest updates.  The baby blanket is finished. (WOO HOO!) I got it just about complete on Saturday when I ran out of yarn. (Grrrrr!)  I thought I would have just enough, but I guess I cut it a little close.  I must have crocheted a bit looser than normal – which, come to think of it, is generally what happens when I try to crochet fast.  In any event, I ran back to the store on Sunday and managed to find one more skein in the same dye lot.  Not that it would have made much difference – the color of all the skeins matched, and I was only short such a small amount, I don’t think a slight difference would have been noticeable.  So, now I have almost an entire skein of baby yellow brushed acrylic floating around.  I’m sure I’ll find something to do with it, though.  So, without further delay, here is the blanket:

I know the photo makes it look slightly lopsided, but trust me – it’s even.  When I took the picture, I was standing on a chair off to the side, which is why the right side looks slightly wider in the picture.  It’s really not.  I know, I should have probably re-arranged and taken another one, but I’m just too lazy today.

Now, next on the list are some dishcloths.  I’ve decided that a number of people are getting homemade marshmallows for Christmas.  I’m planning to bulk up this gift by adding to each set some hot chocolate mix, a mug or two and a Christmas dishcloth.  Here’s my choice.  It’s an illusion pattern, so this is the cloth straight on:

And here’s the cloth when viewed from an angle:

I asked Jasmine if she could find the Christmas tree in the cloth, and she loved it once I showed her the trick!

Maybe I’ll add her kindergarten teacher to the marshmallow list – Jasmine would probably love giving something like this to her.  And, it may be a good teacher gift since the marshmallows are a consumable and the dishcloth would be something (I hope) she could use.  I know enough teachers who have boxes of teacher gifts that get stuck in a closet and used for re-gifting as necessary, that I’d like to give something her teacher might actually enjoy.

OK – back to work for me!!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kitten
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 12:11:59

    Knit washcloths are a dream gift. I got some for my wedding from a good friend and I actually used them until they had multiple holes in them.

    And homemade marshmallows are AWESOME. I’m impressed you’ve made some.

    Reply

  2. Megan
    Oct 13, 2008 @ 15:10:03

    Oooh! Could you send me a copy of that pattern for the baby blanket? That is gorgeous. I have a friend having a baby in February, and that looks like a nice change from my usual blanket.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

