It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year . . .

Well, we’re well into September, so that means it’s time for me to start thinking about Christmas full force.  Am I strange?  Is it too early???  I don’t know . . .  I do know that if I start in September, I just may have a chance to finish my Christmas knitting on time . . . as long as I don’t bite off more than I can chew.  Although I must say that it always feels strange to me to start this stuff while all the Halloween candy is in the stores. (Plus I need to squeeze in a baby blanket and goodies for the Tea Swap I joined in there as well!)

So . . .

To start with, I crochet ornaments each year (thread crochet).  I’ve been doing this since 1999, which makes this Year Ten (Wow!).  Every year I choose a different ornament and make them until I can’t stand to look at them any more. I’ve tried a couple of different patterns in this year’s search, and finally decided upon an angel.  It’s kind of cool since it’s actually supposed to be a fan or window shade pull – but should work well as an ornament.  I generally make a minimum of 60 ornaments, and this pattern requires plastic rings for the angel head.  I’ve found the best price at Walmart – unfortunately, the last time I checked they were out of 1″ rings.  I bought one pack of 1-1/8″ – we’ll see what I think of those.  In the meantime, here’s the prototype in progress:

Next are the Rose Red hats for the Aunts. As usual, I’ve had to go down to get gauge – I’m using a size 3 needle, but may go up a size on the next one – we’ll have to see what the hat does after blocking.  Here’s a picture in progress:

So far I’m really pleased with the pattern.  It’s knitting up very fast.  There is actually less cabling than I originally thought. I think once it’s blocked the lace part of the pattern should really open up.

In other news. I finally found out my sister-in-law’s shoe size.  The idea is that I would be able to finish Sianny’s socks.  Now, let me start out by saying that Sianny is approximately my height, weight and clothing size, so it seemed logical to me that her shoe size would be within a half-size of mine either way.  I was wrong.  She wears 8.5 / 9!!!  Which means that even if I pull the toe of the slipper/socks out and rework them, they will still probably be too tight.  Grrrrrr!  So I’ll find someone else to give these socks to, and we’ll be starting Sianny’s Socks II – the Sequel very soon.

Oh well, they do go pretty quickly . . .

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kitten
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 01:41:23

    It is the most wonderful time of the year! I love September for a variety of reasons, but one of my biggest reasons is what I call “Start of the holiday season.” I also have plans for gifts this year, including some knitted knee socks. However, now that I have a shiny new sewing machine, I’m thinking of pillows and aprons as gifts.

    Reply

  2. mrc
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 01:09:45

    You’re still ahead of me…way ahead of me. I’ve got 4.32 out of 12 sweaters done. I really should be doing the last 4 rows of Katie’s sweater’s neck and making sure all the ends are bound or working on Eva’s sweater’s back instead of surfing. But the Phillies game is a bit frightening, so maybe it’s better that my attention is elsewhere. :-0

    mrc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

