Back from Vacation!

Wow – what a whirlwind trip. We started with a drive to Lewes, DE on Tues. – did Lewes and Rehoboth that night.

There is a yarn shop in Lewes – WOO HOO! I didn’t buy anything – the yarn shop shares space with another store, and the yarnies weren’t there. Probably a lucky thing, since I really couldn’t afford more stash anyway – but it was fun to look. My favorite thing was the labyrinth at St. Peters in Lewes. Very cool – Jasmine & I walked it.

Anyway – the whole point of starting in Lewes was to take the Cape May -Lewes Ferry to Cape May the following morning. I had been on the ferry once before, but it was a night trip, so this was my first trip where I could actually see everything. We did see a couple pods of dolphins – I had a perfect view of one in particular since it swam right in front of where I was sitting.

All in all, Rehoboth was nice, but I’m used to the Jersey shore, so was so it was good to get to NJ. It’s funny to think about it – I’ve been taking vacations in the same place since I was a baby, and it’s still fun. I love the fact that I can show my kids all the same places I enjoyed when I was their age.

This year, we were fortunate enough to stay at our neighbor’s summer cottage in Villas, which is about 10 minutes from both Wildwood and Cape May. So, while Rob & Jasmine went on the beach, Robbie & I went SHOPPING (the poor boy!). I stocked up on soap at Bath Time Cape May (one of my favorite stores) – Robbie got a pirate ducky. And, of course, visited the YARN STORE (WOO HOO – again!). This time, I couldn’t help myself – bought a booklet of knitted doily patterns and a kit for an adorable beaded knit flower.

By the time we got back to the cottage, the tide was out. I had heard the sunset view was incredible – I had no idea how beautiful – lookie at the pics!

Villas low tide

Villas low tide

Rob & Robbie - Sunset

Rob & Robbie - Sunset

Michelle & Jazzy - Sunset

Michelle & Jazzy - Sunset

The bay itself at this part of the beach is shallow, so when the tide goes out, it goes waaaaaaayyy out. There were all kinds of little snails. And horseshoe crab shells everywhere! Maybe we’ll be able to get back that way in May when the horseshoe crabs come up to lay their eggs. The following morning we even spotted a bald eagle eatting a fish by the waterline!!!!

Robbie - Sunset Beach

Robbie - Sunset Beach

Jazz - Sunset Beach

Friday started out with breakfast in Cape May and then a trip to Sunset Beach. For those not familiar with is, Sunset Beach is made up of mostly pebbles (as opposed to sand) and is the one place where you can find lots and lots of Cape May Diamonds. Cape May Diamonds are quartz pebbles that wash up on the shore. When they’re wet they are clear and sparkly (like diamonds). We all dug through the beach and found a nice handful of them. Robbie especially liked it – I think he liked playing in the stones. I made sure his pacifier stayed firmly in his mouth though – since I wouldn’t put it past him to try to eat a diamond.

Next on the list was the dolphin watching trip on the Silver Bullet for Rob & Jasmine. (Robbie is too little for a speedboat ride, so he and I stayed back). They had a fabulous time! They saw lots of dolphins, including some babies. It sounds like the Captain took a special interest in Jasmine (probably because she wore her T-shirt from last year’s dolphin watching trip). He explained to her that the female dolphins (the mommies) have pink bellies and even gave her a shell that was given to him by one of “Ariel’s sisters” – she loved it!

My goal in staying back was to work on Sianny’s socks. At the start of our vacation I only had about 4″ to go on them. Figuring I’d finish them up in no time, I took a 2nd project along. Things didn’t exactly work out that way – I had very little time to knit, but did manage a few minutes while Robbie napped and we had the house to ourselves.

Friday night was the Wildwood Boardwalk. LOVE IT!!! I know it’s a little crusty and but it’s still one of my favorites. I love that some of the same stores have been on this boardwalk for 30-40-50 years. We did a lot of walking!

And before we knew it, it was Saturday and time to come home. We spent the morning cleaning up the cottage so that it would be nice and neat for our neighbor when she travels back down, took a last walk on the beach, got some lunch and headed for Ocean City.

This was a big beach day for Rob & Jasmine. They saved a shark. Yes, that’s right – they saved a shark. Here’s the story. They were on the beach and saw a very large seagull trying to carry something off – so of course they ran after it to investigate. The “something” was a dogfish shark. Being the animal lovers that they are, they chased the gull and managed to get the shark back in the water – a little worse for wear, but still swimming. Whether or not he actually made it much past the rescue, I’m not going to venture a guess. Needless to say, by the time we reached the boardwalk Jasmine was bouncing on air.

While they swam – once again Robbie & I went SHOPPING! There’s a new pirate store on the boardwalk. It was fantastic. I loved pretty much everything in there. Here’s what Robbie looked like when we met Rob & Jasmine after the beach:

Dread Pirate Robert

Dread Pirate Robert

Ocean City has a great amusement pier – perfect for younger kids – and we had a packet of tickets that we purchased earlier (during the 1/2-price ticket days). The highlight of the night was absolutely the bumper cars.

Bumper Cars!

Bumper Cars!

These are kiddie bumper cars. I don’t know if they don’t go in reverse or if kids that young just can’t figure out reverse, but either way, it was something to see. The kids go forward, run into each other and then they just have to sit there until the attendant pulls them apart. Whatever they were paying the attendant, it wasn’t enough. He pretty much ran around the bumper car pit non-stop throughout the ride. By the time the ride was over the onlookers (parents) spontaneously started cheering for him. And I’ve never seen a amusement ride attendant tipped before, but I think this guy must have made at least $15 dollars just in tips from the parents on that one 2-minute go-round.

After caramel corn and ice cream we headed home. I could barely keep my eyes open. Sianny’s socks were not much closer to being finished than when we left, but that’s ok – I have until Christmas.

Actually, I did manage to mostly finish them last night. I’m going to hold off grafting the toe until I confirm her shoe size – just in case I need to frog the toe & re-do it shorter or longer.

Sianny's Socks
Mom's Doily

In the meantime, my mom put in an order for a new doily, so I’ve started that (crochet). I may try one of the knitted patterns from the new book for her for Christmas.

One Last pic from Vacation:

Pirate Baby!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kitten
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 03:47:30

    Oh man! I love the Jersey shore and I even love reading about the Jersey shore. I’m more of an Ocean City girl myself now, but I grew up a Wildwood child. 🙂 I cannot wait until my son is old enough to visit the shore.

    I loved all your pictures and all the mention of places you’ve been. I never knew there was a yarn store in Cape May and I’ve been to Cape May a ton of times!

    Were there any dead jellyfish on the shore? That’s my least favorite thing about the Jersey shore in August. Also, how do you keep the sand out of a baby’s mouth?

    Reply

  2. smittenknitten
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 21:30:11

    Sounds like you had a fabulous vacation! Your little Dread Pirate Robert is cute as a button!

    Reply

  3. Mairin
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 16:35:24

    Looks like you had a great time! I’m envious of those blue skies, we have just had grey skies non-stop for about a month.

    Reply

  4. Amanda
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 02:43:56

    I love the Jersey shore but I’m kind of biased 🙂 The pictures are beautiful looks like you guys had a great time.

    Reply

  5. Greg Miller
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 00:06:57

    Great to hear that all of you had a great time. You’re a good storyteller keep them coming.
    Peace!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

