Casting On Dan’s Socks

I’ve started on Dan’s socks for Christmas.  The idea is to have “slipper socks” for both Dan and Sianny for  Christmas to add to their regular gifts. So, I started with Dan’s because it’s the quicker of the two patterns, plus I’ve JUST started learning to knit 2-at-a-time, so I wanted to go for the easier version.  This one is done in a worsted weight yarn – which is kind of weird for a sock, but perfect if you’re calling it a “slipper.”  Besides, I doubt the men in my family would wear hand-knit socks – much too warm to wear with shoes.  They are very plain but, here again, they’re men’s socks.  I have to figure out a way to get his shoe size though – since I want to make sure that they are long enough – but not too long.

Here’s  where they are after this weekend (no – we didn’t really do too much this weekend)

The heels are turned – so now I just have to pick up the gusset stitches and it should be smooth sailin’ (famous last words).

Leave a Reply

