End of Summer

OK – so really, I’m still here.  Things just got busy this year – that and I spend too much time on Facebook – oh, and my children interrupt whatever I’m doing at approximately 30 second intervals.  So anyway, I really have been knitting and crocheting right along.  I really don’t want to blog a long catalog list of a bunch of little projects, but I will show a couple:

First off – I got tired of seeing/hearing about Clapotis, and finally decided to bite the bullet and try on of my own.  Here it is:

It actually was kind of cool.  I made it with sock yarn, so went down on needle size and added an extra repeat both across and down to make my final size match the pattern.  It did get VERY boring about 1/3 of the way through, but I plugged right along.  And, let me tell you, there is something very satisfying about dropping those stitches and making them all run down at the end – YEA!!!  I am pleased with the outcome.  Who knows if I’ll actually use it, but I’m happy with it.

And second:

Now, I have to tell you the story that goes along with this.  My birthday was this month, so I decided to save a little money and splurge on a couple of things for myself.  Nothing too major – just a couple of little things that most times I can’t justify buying for myself.  So . . . I made a list of potential goodies and one of them was a little vampire doll called a Vamplet.  These things are so stinkin’ cute and the price is reasonable.  But I couldn’t justify it once I added in for shipping, especially for something that’s just going to sit on a shelf and gather dust.  So I got the bright idea to make one myself.  Yes, it will still sit and gather dust, but at least I used stash yarn so, other than the time involved (and the little skull/bat buttons) it was free!  (And, anyone who knows me knows – If it’s Free it’s for Me!).  So, I found a cute little amigurumi doll pattern and vamped it up. Not bad!  The original vamplets are cutier, but I’m happy with little Hortense. (Well, haven’t officially named her yet – so who knows, that might changed.) Jasmine keeps begging for one of her own.

And yes, I know, I HATE making toys.  This one took me forever because I only did a little at a time.

So that’s it for now.  There are more in the Rav queue and a couple that didn’t even make it there, at least not yet – doilies, bookmarks, bags, etc.  I’m trying to take some pictures and update.  It’s my annual “Back to School Time Catch-up!”  Especially since it’s time to start the Christmas knitting (scary, I know)!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kitten
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 03:01:56

    You know, I was just wondering if you’d ever blog again after I spotted your clapotis in Ravelry. Nice work, btw, and I hope you find time to blog. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

