Wow – The Holidays are over!

Welcome to January. When we look back at this holiday season, I think we’ll remember it fondly as the year of the sickies. I’m finally feeling better, but now the little guy is all stuffy and sneezy (and has been for too long – we finally went to the doctor), and this week, my Mac decided that it was tired of  turning on, so that is also at the doctors right now, and I’m stuck on the dreaded PC laptop – not my favorite, but I’ll save that rant for another time and just be thankful that I actually have a computer. I am holding my breath that no work comes in until I get the Mac back, though. As you can tell, it’s been an exciting week.

My goal was to have the tree down last Monday – that didn’t exactly work. But hey, I have a couple of knitting projects finished, so I figure that helps to make up for it.

First of all, the purple shifting sands scarf is FINISHED!!!  I don’t know why I spent so long on this project. It could be that once you get the stitch pattern down, it can get boring quickly. Or it could just be that I love the feel of knitting with Malabrigo so tried to stretch it out so that it would last longer. Anyway, it’s finished, I love it. I think I’ll need to get another Malabrigo project on the needles. I think there’s some kind of calming qualities intrinsic in Malabrigo – Do you think they do something to the wool while they’re spinning it? (ooohhhh – voodoo!)

AND, I managed to crochet a couple of these oh-so-cute little baby doll bassinet/purse combos. I’m very pleased with them – they were quick and adorable (if I do say so myself). The hardest part was finding a little doll the right size to fit in them. I eventually lucked out at Walmart – YEA! The pattern also includes a baby bunting to go with the doll, but since my dolls were already dressed, and it didn’t look like the bunting would work on them anyway, I just tossed together a quick baby blanket.  No pattern – I just did a little half-double/chain combo thing and then put on a reverse-single border to match the border on the bassinet.

Also decided to try this very cool facecloth/dishcloth by Norah Gaughan. LOVE IT! I love her geometrical designs. This cloth is knit from the outside in. I may try it again in the round to avoid the seam. I think it should work fairly easily, since every wrong side row is all knit and purl (no cabling). The photo really doesn’t do it justice, but I was trying to take the pictures quickly, and didn’t worry too much about lighting, etc.

And, while I promised more pics of Christmas knitting, I kind of forgot and gave a few things away without snapping a pic. Did however remember to photo these cute little bowls that I made for the aunts:

LOVE THEM! So easy and they turn out so cute! You can see the ornaments on a couple of them. The pattern is from 101 Designer One Skein Wonders.

So that’s what I have finished to show. Feeling very productive looking at this post right now. YEA ME! (can you tell we’ve been watching way too much Disney channel in our house?)

So now it’s on to . . . .

DUDES!  This is the beginning of SOCKS!!

I know!

FINALLY.

Yes, I’ve been promising to start another pair of socks forever. So, here they are. They’re the Sunshine pattern from Cookie A’s new book. All right – it’s not so new anymore since I’ve been dragging my feet on the sock thing for so long. I’m using Knit Picks stroll/eassential in their kettle dyed burgundy. It was tough to pick, I have a bunch of sock yarn that’s been calling my name. But I think this one’s been calling longest, so . . . Although I want to start a pair of Nutkins too. Not to mention Ysolda’s Whimsical Little Knits because my Evil Stepmother wants to be Ishbel.

So, thanks for listening to my new year’s ramblings.  I leave you with one of my favorite pictures from this year.

Christmas Pageant ’09 – My favorite shepherd and sheep!

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mairin
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 17:41:13

    Just showed Maeve the last photo – she loved it!

    Reply

  2. Kitten
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 06:47:55

    Oh! Look at that sheep! Such a cute photo of a little shepherd(ess) and flock.

    Also, can’t wait to see more about those socks. I love cookie a.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

